## St Mary's Church, Saffron Walden Sunday 5th May 2024

## **Minutes of Annual Meetings**

## 1. Meeting of the Parishioners

**Present:** Anthony Armon Jones, Tash Banks, David Birchall, Sue Birchall, Rowan Sylvester Bradley, Sue Sylvester Bradley, John Bridges, Jim Butler, Andrew Colebrook, Hazel Colebrook, Françoise Muchet Davis, Vivian Falk, Bron Ferland, Heather Finch, Richard Garvey. Marion Garvey, Gill Gibson, Sheila Girgis, Lesley Green, Judith Hasler, Steve Hasler, Joe Hordern, Pauline Hordern, David Hoy, Kathleen Huey, Martin Hugall, Margaret Jacobs. Jya-Hsiang Huang, Lynne Kettridge, Oli King, Jenny Kirkaldy, Gill Lovegrove, Rev'd Michael Lovegrove (non-voting), Anna Martin (clerk) Shawn Martin, Ralph Meloy,: Pamela Mugliston, John Mumford, Helen Nash, Tracey Nicholls, Robin O'Neill, Simon Potter, Hannah Razzell and Pam Russell, Noël Starr, Jeremy Trew (Chair) Angela Want, Clifford Want, Matt Williamson

- 1. **Confirmation of the Notice convening the meeting**. It was agreed that the meeting had been convened legally.
- 2. **Apologies for absence:** Patrick Li, Edward Gildea, Gill Caswell and Denis Tindley sent apologies
- 3. Approval of the Minutes of the Meeting of the Parishioners held on 7th May 2023: The minutes were approved
- 4. **Election of two Churchwardens.** Simon Potter, proposed by Hannah Razzel and David Hoy, and Vivian Falk, proposed by Pam Russell and Seconded Susan Birchall, were elected.
- 5. **Election of four Assistant Churchwardens:** Patrick Li nominated by Gill Caswell and David Hoy William Rose proposed by Gill Caswell and Pam Russell Janet Siewertson nominated by Gill Caswell and Pam Russell, and Pam Russell, nominated by Gill Caswell and Jan Siewertson.

## 2. Annual Parochial Church Meeting Sunday 5th May 2024 immediately following Meeting of Parishioners

Present: Anthony Armon Jones, Tash Banks, David Birchall, Sue Birchall, Rowan Sylvester Bradley, Sue Sylvester Bradley, John Bridges, Jim Butler, Andrew Colebrook, Hazel Colebrook, Françoise Muchet-Davis, Vivian Falk, Bron Ferland, Heather Finch, Richard Garvey. Marion Garvey, Gill Gibson, Sheila Girgis, Lesley Green, Judith Hasler, Steve Hasler, Joe Hordern, Pauline Hordern, David Hoy, Kathleen Huey, Martin Hugall, Margaret Jacobs. Jya-Hsiang Huang, Lynne Kettridge, Oli King, Jenny Kirkaldy, Gill Lovegrove, Rev'd Michael Lovegrove (non-voting), Anna Martin (clerk) Shawn Martin, Ralph Meloy, Pamela Mugliston, John Mumford, Helen Nash, Tracey Nicholls, Robin O'Neill, Simon Potter, Hannah Razzell and Pam Russell, Noël Starr, Jeremy Trew (Chair) Angela Want, Clifford Want. Matt Williamson

The Rector stressed that at this meeting, only those who were on the ecclesiastical parish roll could speak or vote.

- 1. **Confirmation of the Notice convening the Meeting.** It was agreed that the meeting had been convened legally.
- 2. Apologies for absence. Patrick Li, Edward Gildea, Gill Caswell and Denis Tindley sent apologies
- 3. **Approval of the Minutes of the APCM held on 7**<sup>th</sup> **May 2023.** The minutes were approved by general acclamation.
- 4. Matters arising from the minutes: There were none.
- 5. **Report on the amended Electoral Roll:** Clifford Want, the Electoral Roll officer, explained that the roll was revised between 6<sup>th</sup> and 20 April and now includes 283 members compared with a total of 289 last year, a net reduction of 6.
- 6. Annual report on the proceedings of the Parochial Church Council (PCC) The official report-which is different to the PCC secretary's introduction in the Annual Report- had been Circulated online and with the papers handed out at the meeting, and there were no comments.
- 7. **Financial statement of the PCC for the year ending 31**st **December 2023** the report had been circulated and there were no comments.
- 8. **Report on the fabric, goods and ornaments of the churches of the parish:** the report had been circulated and there were no comments.
- 9. **Report of the proceedings of the Deanery Synod:** The report had been circulated and there were no comments.
- 10. Rector's Report: The rector, Jeremy Trew, explained that it had been a difficult year for him but expressed gratitude for the support that he had received from parishoners and staff. The rector stressed that it was important for members to ask questions and challenged them to think of a good question for next year's meeting.

Martin Hugall asked how the 'Living in Love and Faith' process had progressed. Jeremy explained what the process was and said that the House of Bishops had approved certain prayers which could be used to bless same sex relationships. Incumbents had the responsibility for choosing whether or not to implement them in parishes, but Jeremy had consulted each of the PCCs in the Deanery and all had agreed that it was appropriate for the prayers to be used, although within those PCC's there had been people who disagreed. Some thought that the process had gone too far and others that the process had not gone far enough. In June there would be an event at which there would be one speaker speaking in support of the blessing of same-sex relationships (Jeremy) and one against (Rev'd Ella Harris). It was important to recognize that brothers and sisters in Christ could disagree with each other amicably, as set out in the Pastoral Principles guidelines, and the event was designed to demonstrate this.

11. Annual Review of various committees and groups. The rector read out the names of the

groups and asked for comments. There were none. He said that the reports were a good representation of the array of different activities going on in the church and of the commitment shown by its members. He asked that people read the reports, reflect on which groups they might want to join or support, note the names of the organisers and encourage and support them if they felt able.

- 12. Appointment of tellers (if necessary): There were no contested posts.
- 13. Election of one [corrected] representative of the laity to the Deanery Synod to fill three casual vacancies for a two-year term. Gill Caswell, nominated by Pamela Russell and Gill Caswell, was elected by general acclamation.
- 14. Election of six representatives of the laity to the PCC for three-year term Patrick Li, nominated by Gill Caswell and Bron Ferland, Bron Ferland, nominated by Oli King and Anna Martin Hannah Razzell nominated by Simon Potter and David Hoy were appointed.

Judith Hasler queried the number of vacancies advertised: Anna Martin, after some investigation, confirmed that there had been one Deanery synod vacancy and eleven lay vacancies in all (including those below) [this was because vacancies had accumulated over the years and Richard, who had held a lay post, had moved to a Deanery synod post. Denis Tindley had resigned the week before, because of poor health, information which she had not processed in time to announce at the meeting].

- 15. Election of two representatives of the laity to the PCC to fill a casual vacancy for a two year term: No candidates had been proposed.
- 16. Election of two representatives of the laity to fill a casual vacancy for a one year term: No candidates had been proposed
- 17. **Appointment of an auditor to the PCC:** David Birchall proposed that Pentons continue in this roll.
- 18. **Any other business** to be notified to secretary or chairman 24 hours in advance. There was none.
- 19. **Vote of thanks Churchwardens:** Simon Potter thanked the Rector and all those who had made the work of the Churchwardens easier, particularly Anthea Slater and Claire Dunn in the Parish Office.
- 20. Closing prayer: The meeting closed in Prayer